Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education

Judge Raymond Steib visiting with students at Marrero Middle School, Marrero, La.

On September 17, 1787, forty-two of the 55 delegates to the Constitutional Convention held their final meeting. Only one item of business occupied the agenda that day, to sign the Constitution of the United States of America. The signing of the Constitution, a document designed to clearly define and separate the powers of the central government, the powers of the states, the rights of the people and how the representatives of the people should be elected, is celebrated across the nation every year on or around September 17th.

Thanks to all the Judges and Attorneys who helped make Constitution Day a success!

Angela Allen-Bell, Tom Angers, Judge Reginald Badeaux, The Honorable Damon Baldone, Lieutenant Colonel James Barkei, Alison Bondurant, Charles Braud,Erin Braud, Jessica Braun, Danielle Brown, Victor Brubaker, LaToya Burrell, H. Ted Cox, Judge Scott Crichton, John Dillon, Mary Dumestre, Angela Elly, Judge Ross Foote, Frances Hewitt, Tom Hogan, Judge Patrick Holly, Evan Howell, Bernadine Johnson, Judge Charles Jones, Robert Lehman, Jackie McCreary, Scott McQuaig,Martha Morgan, Judge Mike Pitman, DeVonna Ponthieu, Judge Wilson Rambo, Sara Scurlock, Judge Robert Segura, Celeste Shields, Judge Raymond Steib, Judge Daniel Stretcher, Judge Parris Taylor, Clair White, Holly Wiseman, Revetta Woods and Marie Wright

The following Schools participated in 2012 Constitution Day:

Alice Birney Elementary School, Archbishop Hannan High School, Belaire High School, Booker T. Washington High School, Cedarwood School, Ella Dolhonde Elementary School, Estelle Elementary School, Folsom Jr. High School, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, Holy Ghost School, Huntington High School, Istrouma High School, Jennings High School, Live Oak Middle School, Livingston Parish Literacy & Technology Center, Magnet High School, Marrero Middle School, Martha Vinyard Elementary School, Montessori Educational Center, Mulberry Elementary School, New Iberia Sr. High School, Quest School, Roseland Elementary Montessori, Sarah T. Reed High School, St. Anthony of Padua School, St. James High School, St. John Berchmans Catholic School, West Leesville Elementary School, Westgate Sr. High School

The following Teachers participated in 2012 Constitution Day:

Winnifred Anderson, Tim Anger, Emily Antrainer, Helen Bahm, Millie Ballagh, Mary Barnes, Barbara Bellar, Jimmy Benton, Ellis Bonaventure, Ashley Chavis, Laurie Duhon, Joelle Flaherty, Stephen Gantz, Katrina Gilliam, Sergio Guzman, Patty Hamilton, Stephanie Harper, Candelaria Jackson, Kelly Jennings, Kathy Jones, Christine Kerber, Patricia Koksal, Meaghan Long, Trenier Mabry, Evelyn McCulla, Rainey Pittman, Carla Powell, Wanda Rogeau, Cindi Shepard, Jane Silvie, Jamie Staub, Gloria Stumpf, Tamra Tramonte, Emily Wagner, Deondra Warner, Roger Whitlock, Judy Williamson and Patricia Wilson

To view pictures please click here.

Content copyright © 2014. lalce.org. All rights reserved.

Constitution Day 2012