Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education

Attorney Corey Parenton with students at John Curtis Christian School, River Ridge, La.

On September 17, 1787, forty-two of the 55 delegates to the Constitutional Convention held their final meeting. Only one item of business occupied the agenda that day, to sign the Constitution of the United States of America. The signing of the Constitution, a document designed to clearly define and separate the powers of the central government, the powers of the states, the rights of the people and how the representatives of the people should be elected, is celebrated across the nation every year on or around September 17th.

In 2014, the LCLCE organized 50 presentations statewide. Thirty-eight (38) judges and attorneys made presentations at 40 schools reaching just under 2700 students. To view photos of the 2014 programs, click here.

Thanks to all the Judges and Attorneys who helped make Constitution Day a success!

Judge John Conery, Judge Shelly Dick, Judge Ross Foote, Judge Mary Ann Vial Lemmon, Judge Mike Pitman, Judge Karen Wells Roby, Judge Robert Segura, Judge Sheva Sims, Judge Ray Steib, Denise Allemand, Barry Ashe, Ben Bleich, Alison Bondurant, Kristy Boxberger, Jessica Braun, Danielle Brown, Trina Chu, John Dillon, Mary Dumestre, Megan Dupuy, Angela Elly, Sandra Gutierrez, A. Spencer Gulden, Roger Hamilton, Robert Harrison, BeckyJo Hollen, Sarah Hood, Teresa King, Carol Michel, Mark Myers, Corey Parenton, Celeste Shields Kimberly Silas and Jason Verdigets

The following Schools participated in 2014 Constitution Day:

Academy of the Sacred Heart High School, Alice Birney Elementary School, Baton Rouge Charter Academy @ Midcity, Bowling Green School, Boyet Jr. High School, Caddo Magnet High School, Claiborne Fundamental Magnet Elementary School, Cohen College Prep High School, Dutchtown High School, Eden Gardens Magnet School, Folsom Jr. High School, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, Holy Ghost School, Holy Rosary High School, Iberia Middle School, International High School of New Orleans, John Curtis Christian School, John Ehret High School, Lakeshore Middle School, Live Oak Middle School, Lockport Middle School, Mount Carmel Academy, Mulberry Elementary School, New Iberia Sr. High School, Ponchatoula Jr. High School, Ridgewood Middle School, Springville Educational Center, St. Augustine High School, St. James Parish Science & Math Academy, St. Katharine Drexel Preparatory School, Warren Easton Charter High School and Westgate High School

Content copyright © 2014. lalce.org. All rights reserved.

Constitution Day 2014