Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education

On September 17, 1787, forty-two of the 55 delegates to the Constitutional Convention held their final meeting. Only one item of business occupied the agenda that day, to sign the Constitution of the United States of America. The signing of the Constitution, a document designed to clearly define and separate the powers of the central government, the powers of the states, the rights of the people and how the representatives of the people should be elected, is celebrated across the nation every year on or around September 17th.

In 2015, the LCLCE organized 76 presentations statewide. Forty-seven (47) judges, attorneys and legislators made presentations at 33 schools reaching just over 2800 students. To view photos of the 2015 programs, click here.

Thanks to all the Judges and Attorneys who helped make Constitution Day a success!

Representative Frank Hoffmann, Judge Adrian Adams, Judge Dawn Amacker, Judge Candice Anderson, Judge Ernestine Anderson-Trahan, Judge Reginald Badeaux, Judge Paul Bonin, Judge John Conery, Judge June Berry Darensburg, Judge Lee Faulk, Judge Andrea Janzen, Judge Sandra Jenkins, Judge Marc Johnson, Judge Benjamin Jones, Judge Keva Landrum-Johnson, Judge Johnny Lee, Judge Mike Pitman, Judge Curtis Sigur, Judge Sheva Sims, Judge Charles Tutt, Judge Zorraine Waguespack, Alison Bondurant, Damon Baldone, Charles Bourque, Jessica Braun, John Dillon, Jackie Dove, Richard Drew, Henri Dufresne, Berwick Duval, Sam Flugence, A. Spencer Gulden, Felicia Hamilton, Thomas Hogan, Mike Jimenez, Kendra Joseph, Laura Katzenmeyer, Tanner Magee, Jackie McCreary, Brittany Myers, Mark Myers, DeVonna Ponthieu, Eddie Rudiger, Brad Scott, Celeste Shields, Jessica Thornhill and Richard Williams

The following Schools participated in 2015 Constitution Day:

Allen Ellender School, Archbishop Hannan High School, Bayou Blue Middle School, Boyet Jr. High School, Cohen College Preparatory School, East Iberville School, Eden Gardens Magnet School, Edna Karr High School, Emily C. Watkins Elementary School, Folsom Jr. High School, Gethsemane Christian Academy, Gramercy Elementary Magnet School, Helen Cox High School, Holy Ghost School, Huntington High School, Jefferson Chamber Foundation Academy, Lake Shore Middle School, Lawrence Crocker College Preparatory School, Live Oak Middle School, Mulberry Elementary School, New Iberia Sr. High School, Park Forest Middle School, Renew Charter Organization's Therapeutic Program, Roseland Elementary Montessori School, SJP Science & Math Academy, Southside Jr. High School, St. Augustine High School, St. Helena College & Career Academy, St. James High School, Sylvanie Williams College Preparatory Charter School, West Monroe High School, Westgate High School and Woodlawn Leadership Academy

Judge Keva Landrum-Johnson with students at Lawrence Crocker College Prep School, New Orleans, La.

Content copyright © 2014. lalce.org. All rights reserved.

Constitution Day 2015