Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education

Constitution Day 2016

Attorney Celeste Shields with students at Roseland Elementary Montessori School, Roseland, La.

On September 17, 1787, forty-two of the 55 delegates to the Constitutional Convention held their final meeting. Only one item of business occupied the agenda that day, to sign the Constitution of the United States of America. The signing of the Constitution, a document designed to clearly define and separate the powers of the central government, the powers of the states, the rights of the people and how the representatives of the people should be elected, is celebrated across the nation every year on or around September 17th.

In 2016, the LCLCE organized 68 presentations statewide. Forty-Seven (47) judges and attorneys made presentations at 34 schools reaching just over 2600 students. To view photos of the 2016 programs, click here.

Thanks to all the Judges and Attorneys who helped make Constitution Day a success!

Judge Paul A. Bonin, Judge Marilyn C. Castle, Judge John E. Conery, Judge John D. Crigler, Judge June Berry Darensburg, Judge Katherine C. Dorroh, Judge Lee V. Faulkner Jr., Judge Charles G. Fitzgerald, Judge W. Ross Foote, Judge C. Wendell Manning, Judge Juan W. Pickett, Judge Mike A. Pitman, Judge Richard J. Putnam III, Judge Curtis Sigur, Judge Sheva M. Sims, Judge Raymond S. Steib Jr., Judge H. Stephens Winters, Virginia D. Alexander, W. T. Angers, John W. Bihm, John "Zack" Blanchard Jr., Dan M. Boudreaux, Trina T. Chu, John F. Dillon, Mary L. Dumestre, Ashly V. Earl, Elizabeth A. Elliot, Shytishia "Sam" Flugence, Lauren E. Godshall, A. Spencer Gulden, Felicia M. Hamilton, Sarah M. Hood, William R. Huguet, Glen L. Langley, Sowmya Mandava, Angel V. Manzanares, Betty A. Maury, Jackie M. McCreary, Mark A. Myers, Corey P. Parenton, DeVonna M. Ponthieu, Seth D. Reeg, Celeste H. Shields, Steven E. Soileau, Taylor C. Stone, Edward L. Tarpley Jr. and Gabrielle A. Wilson-Prout

The following Schools participated in 2016 Constitution Day:

Bolton High School, Bossier Parish School for Technology & Innovative Learning, Boyet Jr. High School, Buchanan Elementary School, C.E. Byrd Magnet High School, Central Park Elementary School, Cohen College Prep High School, Comeaux High School, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy, Eden Gardens Magnet School, Einstein Middle/High Charter School, Folsom Jr. High School, General Trass High School, Greenacres Middle School, Helen Cox High School, Huntington High School, Iberville Math, Science and Arts Academy, John Ehret High School, Live Oak Middle School, Louise McGehee School, Metairie Park Country Day, Mulberry Elementary School, New Iberia Sr. High School, Northside High School, Northwood High School, Nunez Community College, Roseland Elementary Montessori School, St. James High School, Summer Grove Elementary School, Sylvanie Williams College Prep School, West Jefferson High School, West Monroe High School, Westgate Sr. High School and Woodlawn Leadership Academy

Content copyright © 2014. lalce.org. All rights reserved.