Content copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.

Attorney Betty Maury with students at Alice Birney Elementary School

Constitution Day 2018

On September 17, 1787, forty-two of the 55 delegates to the Constitutional Convention held their final meeting. Only one item of business occupied the agenda that day, to sign the Constitution of the United States of America. The signing of the Constitution, a document designed to clearly define and separate the powers of the central government, the powers of the states, the rights of the people and how the representatives of the people should be elected, is celebrated across the nation every year on or around September 17th.

In 2018, the LCLCE organized 68 presentations statewide. Forty (40) judges and attorneys made presentations at 33 schools reaching 2685 students. To view photos of the 2018 programs, click here.

Thanks to all the Judges and Attorneys who helped make Constitution Day a success!

Judge Alvin Batiste, Judge Charlie Fitzgerald, Judge Curtis Sigur, Judge Jeff Cox, Judge Katherine Dorroh, Judge Marilyn Castle, Judge Patricia Koch, Judge Randall Bethancourt, Judge Sharon Marchman, Judge Sheva Sims, Judge Theodore Haik, Denise Allemand, Angela Allen-Bell, Tom Angers, Elizabeth Borne, Jessica Braun, Albert Clark, Keith Daigle, Mary Dumestre, Jeff Easley, Claire Edwards, A. Spencer Gulden, Felicia Hamilton, Sarah Hood, Zachary Keller, Holly LaMarche, Ross LeBlanc, Kristen Lee, Ted Luquette, Peter Mansfield, Betty Maury, Mark Myers, Ebonee Norris, Gary Parker, Warren Perrin, DeVonna Ponthieu, Elizabeth Sconzert, Paul Tabary, Miranda Tait and Micah Zeno

The following Schools participated in 2017 Constitution Day:

Alice Birney Elementary School, Archbishop Hannan High School, Arlington Preparatory, Benton High School, Boyet Jr. High School, Broadmoor High School, Brookstown Middle School, C.E. Byrd High School, Carencro High School, Comeaux High School, Covenant Christian Academy, Grant Jr. High School, Huntington High School, Iberville math, Science and Arts Academy MSAW, Joseph J. Davies Elementary School, Lafayette Christian Academy, Lafayette High School, Lake Harbor Middle School, Live Oak Jr. High School, Lockport Middle School, Loyola College Preparatory, Montessori Educational Center, Morehouse Magnet School, Mulberry Elementary School, New Iberia Sr. High School, Nunez Community College, Paul Breaux Middle School, ReNew Therapeutic Program, St. Helena College & Career Academy, St. Mark's Cathedral School, The Net Charter School Gentilly, West Monroe High School and Woodlawn Leadership Academy