Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education

Judge Max Tobias visits with Cabrini High School, New Orleans, La.

Judge Ray Steib visits with John Curtis Christian School, River Ridge, La.

Many cities in Louisiana have local bar associations and other organizations that conduct wonderful programs in honor of Law Day. The Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education (LCLCE) seeks to reach those students that are not lucky enough to be a part of one of those programs. Instead of doing one program in honor of Law Day, the LCLCE Lawyers in the Classroom/ Judges in the Classroom program provided multiple in-class presentations across the state during Law Day week. We are proud, thanks to enthusiastic teachers and an endless supply of volunteers from the Louisiana legal community, that our Law Day programs occurred in all seven congressional districts and at all grade levels, Pre-K – 12.

In 2013, the LCLCE organized 82 presentations statewide. Twenty-one judges (21) and twenty-nine (29) attorneys made presentations at 40 schools reaching just under 3450 students. To view photos of the 2013 programs, click here.  

The Lawyers in the Classroom/ Judges in the Classroom program is a partnership between the Louisiana District Judges Association, the Louisiana State Bar Association and the LCLCE. The LCLCE is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that coordinates, implements and develops Law and Civic Education programs, trains others in the delivery of Law and Civic Education and assists with the delivery of quality Law and Civic Education programs throughout the State ofLouisiana. It is the public education arm of the Louisiana State Bar Association.

Thanks to all the Judges and Attorneys who helped make Law Day a success!

Judge Reginald Badeaux, Judge Paul Bonin, Judge Eirleen Brown, Judge Jeff Cox, Judge Lilynn Cutrer, Judge Clayton Davis, Judge Karen Herman, Judge Mark Jeansonne, Judge Sandra Jenkins, Judge Michael Lancaster, Judge Wendell Manning, Judge Mike Pitman, Judge Kent Savoie, Judge Robert Segura, Judge Sheva Sims, Judge Rayond Steib, Judge Parris Taylor, Judge Max Tobias, Judge Melise Trahan, Judge Kirk Williams, Judge Robert Wyatt, Denise Allemand, Damon Baldone, Danielle Brown, Kelly Carmena, Trina Chu, Albert Clary, John Dillon, J. Keith Gates, A. Spencer Gulden, Roger Hamilton, Jack Harrison, Evan Howell, William Jones, Clay LeJeune, Kristi Louque, Gernine Mailhes, Sarah Midboe, Ben Miller, Mark Myers, John Nickelson, Patti Oppenheim, Corey Parenton, Thomas Robbins, Emilia Salas, Meghan Shumaker, David Smith, Angel Varnado, Jason Verdigets & Russell Woodard

The following Schools participated in 2013 Law Day:

Alton Elementary, Archbishop Hannan High, Audubon Charter, Belaire High, Belle Chasse High, Booker T. Washington High, Brock Elementary, C.E. Byrd High, Cabrini High, Caddo Parish Magnet High, Central Middle, Chahta-Ima Elementary, Clearwood Jr. High, Crestwood Learning Academy, Delmont Elementary, Eden Gardens Magnet, Ella Dolhonde Elementary, Faith Academy, Folsom Jr. High, Gentilly Terrace Elementary, Huntington High, Jesus the Good Shepard School, John Curtis Christian School, John F. Kennedy Elementary, John L. Ory Communications Magnet, Jonesboro-Hodge Middle, Lafargue Elementary, Lockport Middle, Louisiana New Tech @ Plain Dealing, Lutcher High, Madison Parish Alternative Center, New Iberia High, North Crowley Elementary, Pearl Watson Elementary, Pierre A. Capdau Charter, Ridgewood Middle, St. Clement of Rome, St. Michael School, Sulphur High & Westgate Sr. High

The following Teachers participated in 2013 Law Day:

Daryl Adams, Tim Anger, Ann Baham-James, Mary Barnes, Gail Beamon, Jimmy Benton, Ellis Bonaventure, Darnell Boudreaux, Jerome Bush, Romain Cheynet, Gail Collins, Kathleen Crick, David Denham, Karen Dottolo, Courtney Elkins, Ezola Freeman, Katrina Gilliam, Gregory Gilyard, Kenneth Guidry, Sergio Guzman, Patty Hamilton, Roberta Harris, Juli Hartley, Claire Heckerman, Sherry Hicks, Charlotte Hinson, Theresa Hintze, Sara Hughes, Chip Kendall, Ruthie Last, Kathy Lewis-Jackson, Rebeccah Lofton, Dr. Reshelle Marino, Jamie Munson, Carla Powell, Sherri Rhodes, Nicole Smith, Monica Speyrer, Tyson Stanley, Denice Thomas, Renee Turner, Casey Vercher, William West & Max Yuratich

Content copyright © 2014. lalce.org. All rights reserved.

Law Day 2013