Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education


Unit One:  What Are the Philosophical and Historical Foundations of the American Political System?
Ellen K. Baggett,
Attorney at Law
Leydecker Law Offices, New Orleans

Tyler Barker, Ph.D.
We the People State Alumni Representative

Lauren E. Godshall,
Attorney at Law
Morris Bart, LLC, New Orleans
Ameer Thabata
We the People Alumni

Unit Two: How Did the Framers Create the Constitution?
Belinda M. Cambre, J.D., Ph.D.,
Louisiana State University Laboratory School, Baton Rouge

Christopher A. Meeks,
Attorney at Law
Scott, Vicknair, Hair & Checki, LLC, Metairie

Bryce Menge
We the People Alumni
Alexcia Perilloux
We the People Alumni

Unit Three: How Has the Constitution Been Changed to Further the Ideals Contained in the Declaration of Independence?
Judge Raymond S. Steib, Jr.
24th Judicial District Court, Gretna

Lori D. Barker,
Attorney at Law
Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker, LLP, New Orleans
We the People Alumni

Brandon Thornton
We the People Alumni

Sabrine Mohamed
We the People Alumni

Unit Four:  How Have the Values and Principles Embodied in the Constitution Shaped American Institutions and Practices?
Philip A. Dynia, Ph.D.,
Chair, Political Science Department
Loyola University, New Orleans

Philip Lundy
We the People Alumni

Mariarenee Contreras
We the People Alumni

Unit Five: What Rights Does the Bill of Rights Protect?
Heather W. Angelico,
Attorney at Law
Galloway, Johnson, Tompkins, Burr & Smith, APLC, New Orleans
We the People Alumni

Nahum D. Laventhal,
Attorney at Law
Nationwide Insurance, Metairie

Jabarie Walker,
Briefings Manager, Staff Assistant to the Mayor
Office of Mayor Mitchell J. Landrieu, City of New Orleans
We the People Alumni
Unit Six: What Challenges Might Face American Constitutional Democracy in the Twenty-first Century?
Roger White, M.A., Ph.D.,
Interim Dean of the College of Social Sciences
Loyola University, New Orleans

Hugh Ngo
We the People Alumni

Rana Thabata
We the People Alumni 


Participating Schools

Congressional District # 1
Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies
Metairie, La.
Chris Totaro, Teacher

Congressional District # 2
Edna Karr High School
New Orleans, La.

John Ehret High School
Marrero, La.
Bradley Kiff, Teacher

Congressional District # 4
Glenbrook School
Minden, La.
Matthew Edwards, Teacher

Special thanks to the following people for their contributions to the program:

 Sen. Troy A. Carter, Sr.
Donald Songy

Philip A. Dynia, Ph.D.
Roger White, M.A., Ph.D.
Loyola Society for Civic Engagement

John Alexander
Master Sgt. Jason Evans
Carl Dermady Jr., M.Ed.
Michelle Molina
Jamie Staub

Willi Lucker
Tristin Sanders
Demi Shilleci
Rula Thabata
Emma Woidtke
Grace Quisenberry

Outstanding Unit Winners from top are, Edna Karr High School,
Glenbrook School, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies,
and John Ehret High School.

Notable guests and participants on hand for the event were guest speaker Senator Troy A. Carter, Sr., Louisiana District 7; Donald Songy, Education Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor; Jabarie R. Walker, Briefings Manager, Office of Mayor Mitchell J. Landrieu;  Tyler Barker, We the People Louisiana Alumni Representative and We the People District Coordinator Michelle Molina.

The Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies We the People State Championship Team with Guest Speakers Donald Songy, Jabarie Walker and team teacher Chris Totaro.

Louisiana "We the People" State Competition

Loyola University
6363 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70118

The state competition was held at Loyola University on Saturday, January 27, 2018.  Four teams, Edna Karr High School, Glenbrook School, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, and John Ehret High School, competed for the opportunity to represent Louisiana in the We the People National Competition that will be held on April 27- May 1, 2018. Haynes Academy’s team, led by Chris Totaro, emerged as the victor. Marie Hoeven from Edna Karr, Haley Bonsall from Glenbrook  and Bradley Kiff from John Ehret are to be commended on the outstanding performances of their teams.

Content copyright © 2018. lalce.org. All rights reserved.