Judge Patricia Koch visiting with students at Montessori Educational Center, Alexandria, La.

Judge Zorraine Waguespack visiting with students at Roseland Elementary Montessori School, Roseland, La.

On September 17, 1787, forty-two of the 55 delegates to the Constitutional Convention held their final meeting. Only one item of business occupied the agenda that day, to sign the Constitution of the United States of America. The signing of the Constitution, a document designed to clearly define and separate the powers of the central government, the powers of the states, the rights of the people and how the representatives of the people should be elected, is celebrated across the nation every year on or around September 17th. 

In 2013, the LCLCE organized 76 presentations statewide. Twenty-one judges (23) and thirty (30) attorneys made presentations at 44 schools reaching just over 4400 students. To view photos of the 2013 programs, click here.

Thanks to all the Judges and Attorneys who helped make Constitution Day a success!

Judge Candice Anderson, Judge Reginald Badeaux, Judge Pamela Baker, Judge Vincent Borne, Mr. Chuck Bourque, Mr. Charles Braud, Ms. Jessica Braun, Ms. Danielle Brown, Mr. J. Bruce Bryant, Mr. Michael Busada, Judge Ray Childress, Ms. Trina Chu, Mr. David Colvin, Judge June Berry Darensburg, Mr. Bobby Delise, Mr. John Dillon, Mr. Ahsly Earl, Judge Daniel Ellender, Ms. Angela Elly, Mr. Bill Flanagan, Judge Ross Foote, Judge Ernestine Gray, Mr. Spencer Gulden, Mr. Jack Harrison, Mr. Rodney Hastings, Ms. Frances Hewitt, Mr. Tom Hogan, Ms. Lila Hogan, Ms. Becky Jo Hollen, Judge Patricia Koch, Judge Scott Leehy, Mr. Clay LeJeune, Ms. Erin Lorio, Mr. Ben Miller, Mr. Mark Myers, Judge Jim Norris, Ms. Nancy Nungesser, Ms. Patti Oppenheim, Mr. Corey Parenton, Judge Mike Pitman, Ms. DeVonna Ponthieu, Judge Wilson Rambo, Ms. Deidre Robert, Judge Charles Schrumpf, Judge Robert Segura, Ms. Celeste Shields, Judge Cameron Simmons, Judge Sheva Sims, Judge Daniel Stretcher, Judge Parris Taylor, Judge Zorraine Waguespack, Judge Lisa Woodruff-White & Judge H. Stephens Winters

The following Schools participated in 2013 Constitution Day:

Archbishop Hannan High, Belaire High, Belle Chasses High, Booker T. Washington High, Bowling Green School, Cabrini High, Caddo Magnet High, Central Middle, Claiborne Fundamental Magnet Elementary, Clearwood Junior High, Devall Middle, East Iberville High, Eden Gardens Magnet, Edna Karr High, Folsom Junior High, Hammond Junior High Magnet, Holy Ghost School, Huntington High, Iberville Math, Science & Arts Academy East Campus, Iberville Math, Science & Arts Academy West Campus, Jeanerette Senior High, Jennings High, Jesus the Good Shepherd Shcool, John Curtis Christian School, Joseph J. Davies Elementary, Judge Lionel R. Collins Montessori, Lee Road Junior High, Lee High STEM and VPA Magnet Academy, Live Oak Middle, Montessori Educational Center, New Iberia Senior High, North Crowley Elementary, Our Lady's School, Park Forest Middle, Ponchatoula Junior High, Roseland Elementary Montessori, Slidell High, St. Anthony of Padua School, St. Helena Central High, St. John Berchmans Catholic School, St. Matthew's Episcopal School, West Monroe High, Westgate High & Woodlawn Leadership Academy

The following Teachers participated in 2013 Constitution Day:

Mr. Daryl Adams, Mr. Charles Baird, Ms. Mary Barnes, Ms. Barbara Bellar, Mr. Jimmy Benton, Mr. Ellis Bonaventure, Ms. Darnell Boudreaux, Mr. Cecil Catalos, Ms. Valerie Comeaux, Mr. Grason Cooper, Ms. Rebecca Denton, Ms. Laurie Duhon, Ms. Karen Embanato, Mr. Gregory Gilyard, Mr. Sergio Guzman, Ms. Patty Hamilton, Ms. Juli Hartley, Ms. Charlotte Hinson, Ms. Sherice Hurst, Ms. Rainey Iasigi, Ms. Kimberly James, Ms. Tressa Laird, Mr. David Locker, Ms. Meaghan Long, Ms. Netosha MacDonald, Ms. Mitzi Murray, Ms. Karen Olivier, Ms. Erica O'Quinn, Ms. Erin Orr Ragsdale, Ms. Esther Pollard, Ms. Carla Powell, Ms. Karura Rainey, Ms. Margaret Ridgeway, Ms. Alisa Ross-White, Ms. Tara Sibal, Ms. Idelia Smith, Ms. Gloria Stumpf, Ms. Denice Thomas, Ms. Tamra Tramonte, Ms. Keia Vanderburg, Ms. Casey Vercher, Ms. Emily Wagner, Mr. Jared Wall, Mr. William West, Ms. Marie Willis & Mr. Max Yuratich

Content copyright © 2014. lalce.org. All rights reserved.

Constitution Day 2013