On September 17, 1787, forty-two of the 55 delegates to the Constitutional Convention held their final meeting. Only one item of business occupied the agenda that day, to sign the Constitution of the United States of America. The signing of the Constitution, a document designed to clearly define and separate the powers of the central government, the powers of the states, the rights of the people and how the representatives of the people should be elected, is celebrated across the nation every year on or around September 17th.

In 2017, the LCLCE organized 102 presentations statewide. Fifty-three (53) judges and attorneys made presentations at 38 schools reaching 3468 students. To view photos of the 2017 programs, click here.

Thanks to all the Judges and Attorneys who helped make Constitution Day a success!

Rep. Frank A. Hoffmann, Judge E. Adrian Adams, Judge David W. Arceneaux, Judge Alvin Batiste, Jr., Judge Randall L. Bethancourt, Judge Marilyn C. Castle, Judge John E. Conery, Judge June Berry Darensburg, Judge Jules D. Edwards, III, Judge Lee V. Faulkner, Jr., Judge Charles E. Fitzgerald, Judge Marc E. Johnson, Judge Mary Ann V. Lemmon, Judge Juan W. Pickett, Judge Curtis Sigur, Judge Sheva M. Sims, Judge Raymond S. Steib, Jr., Judge Parris A. Taylor, Judge Janis Van Meerveld, John Z. Blanchard, Jr., C. Taylor Breland, Michelle D. Brooks, Mike J. Busada, Jose R. Cot, H. Ted Cox III, Rachal D. Cox, Victoria J. Cvitanovic, Mary L. Dumestre, Megan M. Dupuy, Claire B. Edwards, Bryanne A. Farr, Chester "Chip" A. Fleming, Sandra E. Gutierrez, Felicia M. Hamilton, Michael A. Harowski, Lance E. Harwell, Ingrid J. James, Jonathan T. Jarrett, Audie L. Jones, Holly Lamarche, Ross M. LeBlanc, Christine Lipsey. Jason R. May, Marla E. Mitchell, Mark A. Myers, DeVonna M. Ponthieu, Allyson M. Prejean, Alicia Reitzell, Mary E. Roper, Taylor C. Stone, Miranda E. Tait, Katherine W. E. Trotter and Revettea D. Woods.

The following Schools participated in 2017 Constitution Day:

Academy of Our Lady High School, Archbishop Hannan High School, Archbishop Rummel High School, Bayou Blue Middle School, Boyet Jr. High School, Carencro High School, CE Byrd High School, Cohen College Prep High School, Comeaux High School, E.D. White Catholic High School, Edna Karr High School, George Welch Elementary School, Greenacres Middle School, Hahnville High School, Hammond High Magnet School, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, Helen Cox High School, Iberville Math, Science & Arts Academy West, Jesuit High School, John Curtis Christian School, Joseph J. Davies Elementary School, Kenner Discovery Health Sciences Academy, Lafayette Middle School, Live Oak Middle School, Lockport Middle School, Mulberry Elementary School, New Iberia Sr. High School, Nunez Community College, Park Forest Middle School, ReNew Therapeutic Program, Scotlandville Magnet High School, St. Joseph Catholic School, West Monroe High School, William J. Fischer Accelerated Academy, Woodlawn Leadership Academy, Woodlawn Middle School, Youngsville Middle School and the Youth Oasis Children's Shelter.

Constitution Day 2017

Content copyright © 2014. lalce.org. All rights reserved.

Attorney Mary L. Dumestre with students at Joseph J, Davies Elementary School, Meraux, La.