Law Day 2018

Attorney Jeanette Dewitt-Kyle at Immaculate Conception Cathedral School, Lake Charles, La.

Many cities in Louisiana have local bar associations and other organizations that conduct wonderful programs in honor of Law Day. The Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education (LCLCE) seeks to reach those students that are not lucky enough to be a part of one of those programs. Instead of doing one program in honor of Law Day, the LCLCE Lawyers in the Classroom/ Judges in the Classroom program provided multiple in-class presentations across the state during Law Day week. We are proud, thanks to enthusiastic teachers and an endless supply of volunteers from the Louisiana legal community, that our Law Day programs occurred in all seven congressional districts and at all grade levels, Pre-K – 12.

Law Day 2018, the LCLCE organized 74 presentations statewide. Fourteen judges (14) and twenty-four (24) attorneys made presentations at 24 schools reaching 3908 students. To view photos of the programs, click

The Lawyers in the Classroom/ Judges in the Classroom program is a partnership between the Louisiana District Judges Association, the Louisiana State Bar Association and the LCLCE. The LCLCE is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that coordinates, implements and develops Law and Civic Education programs, trains others in the delivery of Law and Civic Education and assists with the delivery of quality Law and Civic Education programs throughout the State of Louisiana. It is the public education arm of the Louisiana State Bar Association.

Thanks to all the Judges and Attorneys who helped make Law Day a success!

Judge David W. Arceneaux, Judge Aisha S. Clark, Judge John E. Conery, Judge June Berry Darensburg, Judge Katherine C. Dorroh, Judge Lee V. Faulkner Jr., Judge Benjamin Jones, Judge Lawrence L. Lagarde Jr., Judge Terri F. Love, Judge Lewis H. Pitman Jr., Judge J. Wilson Rambo, Judge D. Kent Savoie, Judge Curtis Sigur, Judge Marie B. "M'elise" Trahan, Rebecca K. Bayless, Teri L. Black, Alison C. Bondurant, Caroline F. Bordelon, Elizabeth Borne, Jeanette E. DeWitt-Kyle, Mary L. Dumestre, Lauren E. Godshall, A. Spencer Gulden, Michael A. Harowski, William "Ken" Hawkins, Peter M. Mansfield, Judy P. Martinez, Matt D. McConnell, Jackie M. McCreary, Elizabeth B. McDermott, Ebonee R. Norris, Mark A. Myers, Gary M. Parker, DeVonna M. Ponthieu, James C. Rather Jr., Celeste H. Shields, Roger A. Stetter and Micah C. Zeno

The following Schools participated in 2018 Law Day:
Bastrop High School, Boyet Jr. High, C.E. Byrd High School, Cohen College Prep, Comeaux High School, Coteau Bayou Blue Elementary, Huntington School of Excellence, Immaculate Conception Cathedral School, Jesus Good Shepherd School, Joseph J. Davies Elementary School, Lycee Francais de la Nouvelle Orleans, Martha Vinyard Elementary School, New Iberia Sr. High School, Northside Christian School, Notre Dame, Nunez Community College, Quest School, St. James Parish 4-H Achievement Day, New Roads STEM Academy, Tchefuncte Middle School, Walker High School, William J. Fischer Elementary School, Woodlawn Leadership Academy and Young Audiences Charter School