The Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies We the People State Championship Team with Guest Speaker Rep. Patricia Haynes Smith, Haynes Principal Karla Russo and team teacher Chris Totaro.

Notable guests and participants on hand for the event were guest speaker Rep. Patricia Haynes Smith, Louisiana District 67, Haynes Academy Principal Karla Russo, Helen Cox Principal Mark Perry, Haynes Academy teacher Jamie Staub and Central Private Cosponsor and school librarian Renee Martin. Also present were John Alexander, Louisiana Project Citizen State Coordinator, Carl Dermady, Jr., Jefferson Parish Social Studies Consultant, Ret., Tyler Barker, We the People Louisiana Alumni Representative and We the People District Coordinators Vickie Hebert, Michelle Molina, Robert Rome

Outstanding Unit Winners from upper left are, Central Private, Glenbrook School,
Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies,
Helen Cox High School and John Ehret High School.

To view more photos from the event:

"We the People" 2014 State Competition Photos


Unit One: What are the Philosophical and Historical Foundations of the American Political System?

Jessica G. Braun, Attorney at Law
Director of Human Resources
Louisiana House of Representatives, Baton Rouge, La.

Tyler Barker

We the People State Alumni Representative

John North, Teacher
West Jefferson High School, Harvey, La.

Betty W. Wilkerson

East Baton Rouge Parish Public Schools, Retired

Unit Two: How did the Framers Create the Constitution?

Ben R. Miller, Jr., Attorney at Law

Kean Miller, LLP, Baton Rouge, La.

Belinda M. Cambre, JD, PhD, Teacher

Port Allen Middle School

Carla Powell, Teacher

Career Academy, Baton Rouge, La.

Thuy Le

We the People Alumni

Unit Three: How Has the Constitution Been Changed to Further the Ideals Contained in the Declaration of Independence?

Supt. Darryl C. Kilbert, Ret.

Orleans Parish Public Schools

Ann Majeste, Teacher

A.C. Alexander Elementary School, Kenner, La.

Matt Byrne

We the People Alumni

Unit Four:  How Have the Values and Principles Embodied in the Constitution Shaped American Institutions and Practices?

Representative Julie Stokes

Louisiana House of Representatives, District 79

Elizabeth A. Kilian, Attorney at Law

Orleans Parish District Attorneys Office, New Orleans, La.

Allison Clarke, Deputy Secretary for the Office of GeauxBiz

Office of Secretary of State Tom Schedler

Philip Lundy

We the People Alumni

Unit Five: What Rights Does the Bill of Rights Protect?

Lloyd Bartolome

We the People Alumni

Nahum D. Laventhal, Attorney at Law

Nationwide Insurance, Metairie, La.

Heather W. Angelico, Attorney at Law

Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith, LLP, New Orleans, La.

Unit Six: What Challenges Might Face American Constitutional Democracy in the Twenty-first Century?

Mary Jo L. Roberts, Attorney at Law

Phelps Dunbar, LLP, New Orleans, La.

Shirley A. Snyder, Attorney at Law

Northwestern State University

Charles P. Regnard

We the People Alumni


Participating Schools

Congressional District # 1
Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies
Metairie, La.
Chris Totaro, Teacher

Congressional District # 2
Helen Cox High School
Harvey, La.
Jonetta Jackson, Teacher

John Ehret High School
Marrero, La.
Bradley Kiff, Teacher

Congressional District # 4
Glenbrook School
Minden, La.
Matthew Edwards, Teacher

Congressional District # 6
Central Private School
Central, La.
Alicia Fergerson, Teacher
Renee Martin, Cosponsor

Special thanks to the following people for their contributions to the program:

Rep. Patricia Haynes Smith

John Alexander
Carl Dermady, Jr.
Vickie Hebert
Robert Rome
Michelle Molina
Christopher Showalter, Sr.

Content copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.

Louisiana "We the People" State Competition

Baton Rouge Marriott Hotel
5500 Hilton Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70808

The state competition was held at the Baton Rouge Marriott on Friday, January 31, 2014.  Five teams, Central Private School, Glenbrook School, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, Helen Cox High School and John Ehret High School, competed for the opportunity to represent Louisiana in the We the People National Competition that will be held on April 25- April 28, 2014. Haynes Academy’s team, led by Chris Totaro, emerged as the victor. Matthew Edwards from Glenbrook, Alicia Fergerson from Central Private, Jonetta Jackson from Helen Cox and Bradley Kiff from John Ehret are to be commended on the outstanding performances of their teams.